Uncategorized

El Corazón

On July 19, we said goodbye to our spring/summer artist-in-residence, Armando Silva. Beloved for his musical action painting performances, Armando had a knack for reaching even the quietest child and encouraging all to look at art, and themselves, in a whole new way.

And while our guests learned so much from Armando, it appears he gained just as much from his time with them. At his closing reception, Armando read a poem inspired by his residency at the Children’s Museum, all about discovering his inner child.

I contain the mastery of my inner child en mi corazón.

Each day, I am more and more my mother’s treasure and my dad’s pride.

I have siblings I play with and a bike I love to ride.

I’ve worn my favorite shirt four days in a row,

and picked the scab on my knee twice this week.

I see the world but don’t acknowledge it.

I mean, that tree grows so that I can climb it right?

I climb to climb and don’t worry about coming down.

I’m here to play, I’m here to draw and I’m here to paint.

OH! OH! OH!

And that hill over there, I’m going to roll down it as fast as I can!

I’ll turn that towel into a cape and save the dog from being inside all day!

I’m now 30 years of age and I am excited to say…

I contain the mastery of my inner child and that child wants to play.

-Armando Silva, ARTMANDO

IMG_3601
El Corazón
A metamorphosis
by Armando Silva, 2017 spring/summer artist-in-residence

 

Leave a Reply

